About the museum

       The museum named Khariton Akhvlediani was originally founded as a school museum in 1908 on the basis of the children's museums at the city school named Pushkin. On October 1, 1908, the teacher of the same school, Nikoloz Gomon, was appointed to the board of the museum. In 1924, the museum was placed in a one-storied treasury building.

Since 1939, the museum has been engaged in scientific-research work, after the museum started expeditions throughout Adjara and collected real museum materials.

The museum is being called Khariton Akhvlediani since 2005. About 180,000 exhibits are preserved at the museum - unique items, collections, photographs, works of art, manuscripts and documentary materials, exhibits depicting the flora and fauna of Adjara. The written sources preserved at the museum fund are important, about 6,000 items, including manuscripts of world importance and a unique book fund.